2011-2012 Horsing Around With Art Winners List

Divisional Awards: PRIMARY 1st Place: Shanaya Wimberly, Rangeland Elementary 2nd Place: Lanaya Watters, Goldsmith Elementary 3rd Place: Sharon Bentley, Breckinridge-Franklin Elementary Honorable Mentions: Kylee Burgess, Rutherford Elementary Parker Dye, St. Matthews Elementary Miriam Gambrell, St. Matthews Elementary Addison Glasscock, Breckinridge-Franklin Elementary Jose Hernandez, Rangeland Elementary Ed Kupper, St. Agnes School Favour Nache, Breckinridge-Franklin Elementary Isabella Punter, Goldsmith Elementary Isabela Silverio, Roosevelt-Perry Elementary Indigo Smallwood, Goldsmith Elementary Hadley Snyder, St. Margaret Mary School Tyler Stinnett, St. Matthews Elementary Divisional Awards: INTERMEDIATE 1st Place: Serenity Frazier, Breckinridge-Franklin Elementary 2nd Place: Zeinab Abdi, King Elementary 3rd Place: Giovanna Butler, Breckinridge-Franklin Elementary Honorable Mentions: Gabriel Anderson, St. Bernard School Britney Bentley, Breckinridge-Franklin Elementary Brianna Brooks, Klondike Lane Elementary Dominique Burrus, Breckinridge-Franklin Elementary Sharlotte Higgs, St. Matthews Elementary Wisdom Igwe, Roosevelt-Perry Elementary Nay Kaw, King Elementary John Le, Rutherford Elementary Heather Mercker, St. Matthews Elementary Keontis Minor, Breckinridge-Franklin Elementary Khin Myo, King Elementary Lindsey Watson, Greathouse/Shryock Elementary

Divisional Awards: MIDDLE SCHOOL 1st Place: Ricky Garr, St. Bernard School 2nd Place: Colton Colglazier, St. Bernard School 3rd Place: Hannah Fouts, St. Stephen Martyr School Honorable Mentions: Sarah Atwell, St. Margaret Mary School Madeline Clements, John Paul II Academy Elizabeth Coyle, Barrett Traditional Middle School Rachel Coyle, Barrett Traditional Middle School Madison Ferrell, Holy Spirit School Abbey Just, St. Bernard School Tyler McDonald, Highland Middle School Ryan Mock, St. Margaret Mary School Kay Nilest, St. Bernard School Shelby Shartzer, St. Bernard School Drew Troutman, Barrett Traditional Middle School Jessie Villier, Barrett Traditional Middle School

Divisional Awards: HIGH SCHOOL 1st Place: Lydia Dallas, Assumption High School 2nd Place: Mackenzie Esterle, Louisville Male High School 3rd Place: Sarah Wilson, Mercy Academy Honorable Mentions: Ruby Alcorn, Pleasure Ridge Park High School Jennifer Davidson, Mercy Academy Makena Devlin, duPont Manual High School Emily Greenwell, Mercy Academy Lauren Lee, Mercy Academy Ann Nunnelley, Assumption High School Anthony Springate, duPont Manual High School Anna Toon, Mercy Academy

3D/SCULPTURE AWARD PRESENTED BY AN ANONYMOUS DONOR Jeremy Bissinger, John Paul II Academy The artist whose work is judged to be the best piece of sculpture or 3-dimensional work.

THE OUTRIDERS SOCIETY AWARD PRESENTED BY THE OUTRIDERS SOCIETY Kay Nilest, St. Bernard School The artist whose work is judged to best capture the traditions of the Kentucky Derby.

BACKSIDE AWARD Giovanna Butler, Breckinridge-Franklin Elementary The artist whose work is judged to best capture scenes from the Backside at Churchill Downs, including any of the people (grooms, hotwalkers, exercise riders, farriers, veterinarians, etc.), equipment or animals involved in the training and care of Thoroughbreds.

THOROUGHBRED AWARD Amber Pyle, Pleasure Ridge Park High School The artist whose work is judged to best “capture the beauty, athleticism and/or magic appeal” of the Thoroughbred racehorse.

THE GRAND PRIZE Ruby Alcorn, Pleasure Ridge Park High School The artist whose work is judged to best “capture the spirit” of the Kentucky Derby.

To be determined at a later date:


This artwork is voted on by the general public.


The artist whose work is judged to be the most popular as voted by the employees of the Kentucky Derby Museum.