Who We Are

Mission Statement

To ENGAGE, EDUCATE, and EXCITE EVERYONE about the extraordinary experience that is the Kentucky Derby!


The Kentucky Derby Museum is one of the region’s premier attractions, celebrating the tradition, history, hospitality, and pride of the world-renowned event that is the Kentucky Derby. Each year, the Museum welcomes over 240,000 visitors from across the U.S. and around the world. With a general admission ticket, visitors can enjoy two floors of interactive exhibits, a 30-minute guided historic walking tour at Churchill Downs Racetrack, and get their heart racing and emotions soaring watching the Museum’s signature 18-minute movie, “The Greatest Race” on a 360°, 4K high-resolution screen.  

The Museum’s exhibits tell the story of how the Kentucky Derby got its start, going back to the first Derby in 1875. Displayed are unique artifacts ranging from early fashion pieces to winning Hall of Fame trainer D. Wayne Lukas’ trophies and artwork entrusted to the Museum in 2017. Visitors can call a race, play Derby trivia and learn about what it takes to be a jockey.  

The Derby Café offers a modern take on some of Kentucky’s signature dishes, including a Hot Brown Panini, Burgoo, and Bourbon Bread Pudding. The bourbon bar offers Mint Juleps, bourbon flights, and other drinks at the full bar.  

In addition to the Historic Walking Tour of Churchill Downs that comes with General Admission, guests can upgrade to other tour options that include some of the most exclusive spots inside Churchill Downs, including Millionaires Row and the backside where Thoroughbreds live and train during racing season.  

With our newly renovated event space, the Kentucky Derby Museum can accommodate special events such as weddings, rehearsal dinners, corporate meetings, and special occasions for small and large groups of up to 2,000 people. Kentucky Derby Museum offers guests unique spaces that bring the thrill of horseracing to any occasion.  

Kentucky Derby Museum is a 501(C)(3) non-profit public charity organization in Louisville, Kentucky. Our mission is to ENGAGE, EDUCATE and EXCITE everyone about the extraordinary experience that is the KENTUCKY DERBY.


Kentucky Derby Museum Board Members

Mr. Mike Anderson President Churchill Downs Racetrack
Mr. Mark Bacon SVP Managing Director of Premium American Whiskey Brown-Forman Corporation
Ms. Jill Baffert    
Ms. Tawana Bain Founder/CEO TBAIN & Co
Mr. Cleo Battle President & CEO Louisville Tourism
Mr. Bill Beam, Jr.    
Ms. Lisa Benson Publisher and Market President Louisville Business First
Ms. Eden Bridgeman Sklenar CMO Manna Inc
Ms. Rhonda Jo Conner    
Ms. Ashley Davis Sigman Vice President Davis Jewelers
Mr. Pat Day Retired Hall of Fame Jockey  
Mr. Craig Dilger Member Stoll Keenon Ogden PLLC
Ms. Anita Ebert Owner Anita Ebert Racing LLC
Mr. Steve Estepp President Estepp Energy
Mr. Glenn Haygood (Immediate Past Chair) President & General Manager WLKY-TV
Mr. Ja Hillebrand (Vice Chair) Chairman and CEO Stock Yards Bank & Trust
Briana Lathon Bluford, J.D. (Secretary) Senior Counsel Kentucky Lottery Corporation
Mr. David Nett (Board Chair) Retired The Kroger Company
Mr. Eamon O’Brien General Manager Omni Louisville Hotel
Ms. Mason Rummel President & CEO James Graham Brown Foundation
Mr. Todd Spencer (Treasurer) Executive Chairman Doe-Anderson
Mr. Harold Workman Retired Retired
Mr. Patrick Armstrong President & CEO Kentucky Derby Museum